Retro MAC Lipstick

10 Mar

Last week, I decided to pay the MAC store a visit. The BF accompanied me but upon entering the store, he just stood aside in the corner because what exactly was he supposed to do at the MAC store right? I didn’t want him to feel left out so I asked him to come over and pick a lipstick for me to try.

HAVE YOU EVER DONE THAT? HAVE YOU EVER LET YOUR BF PICK OUT YOUR MAKEUP?

Well, the BF picked a color that I NEVER in my life would have ever chosen. I mean this color was like almost brown red…BROWN…RED? Out of all the colors MAC has on display, I mean pretty pinks, reds, nudes, and more pretty pinks, the BF chooses a brown red. I didn’t make a fuchi face because well I did ask him to choose a color and I didn’t want him to feel bad, so I was a good sport and tried the brown red lipstick on.

And Hallelujer! It looked good! I was suuuuper surprised! I said “wooooow, this looks very retro” and what do you know! I flip it over and it IS called retro. So I did something I would have never done: I bought the brown red lipstick and was left extremely impressed with the BF, who didn’t even know what he was doing, he probably just chose the first one he saw!

retro lipstick mac

Retro MAC Lipstick

 

If there is one thing you should know about me, well, at this point you may know a lot, but as far as bold lip colors, I am a total nude girl. I LOVE my nude lipstick colors. You’re thinking “why waste money on a color the same as your lips”, right? But I don’t know, I can’t wear red red and I just tend to stick to my nude colors with some bold black eyeliner. So me buying this color was totally different for me.

And another thing: I am not fond of brown..at all. So when I saw this almost brown color, I was like, no way!

But I like the color and I think it goes good with my skin color and depending on my outfit, it’s totally reminiscent of past decades.

wearing mac retro red

Taking a walk on the RETRO side

The lipstick is matte so I liked that it stayed on for a while and it wasn’t too bright red but not too dark brown, does that make sense. And it made me feel a litte bit mah-tur walking out into the world with a bold color. It’s always fun to try something new, especially in makeup. Next time, try a color that you wouldn’t normally buy for your collection!

6 Responses to “Retro MAC Lipstick”

  1. Judy C. March 11, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    Looks good….sort of a color I would use back in my days but its wuznt MAC it wuz 99 cent (Jordana)…lol 🙂

    • panchamora March 11, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      HAHA! I remember Jordana!

  2. Adriana March 11, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Nice, looks good!

  3. Fani March 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    You have me cracking up! I could picture you telling me this story in person! I love the color, Nice pick Mister Frank!

    • panchamora March 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      After reading this post, he mentioned that he DID know what he was doing….but i dont believe him! haha

      • Fani March 15, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

        Poor Poor Frank!

Leave a Reply

