Spice Girls – Girl Power!

29 Mar
spice girls blog

Girl Power!

When the Spice Girls were popular back in the 90s and asking everyone to tell them what they want, I wanted nothing to do with them.

The un-stylish outifits, their ego-centric personas and the whole pop songs.

I was too busy with flower power , vintage stores and K-EARTH 101 (oldies station).

However, the little sister, who is now covered in tattoos and probably will never admit her obsession with the group, was ALL about the Spice Girls.. Her fave was Sporty Spice.

We even bought her Spice World and it made me livid to see that in our household.

Forward now to 2012, March 29th at 9am and I am singing “Spice Up Your Life” to my shaggy dawgy.

“Slam it to the left!”, I tell her and her ears prop up – “Shake it to the right”, I add and she groans a bit….

I walk away laughing then I start with the “la, la, la, la, la, la….”

Seriously? I’m singing Spice Girls and I’m actually having fun!

Once in a while, Spice Girls tunes will even be heard at my local gym – and without hesitation, I sing along while trying to focus on my squats.

Maybe it was my little sister’s obsession that has unconciously infused these songs into my memory.

Or maybe….I really did like the Spice Girls after all but was too cool to resign my hippie character.

The world may never know.

But if anyone asks, I’m Ginger Spice!

spice girls rolling stone blog review

Scary Spice, Baby Spice, Posh Spice, Ginger Spice, Sporty Spice

Leave a Reply

