Appetizer Upgrade at Gastropub Haven

6 Jun

You might just gain about five pounds after reading this post. Either way, I did. After a long, hot Saturday, I was ready for a big meal and a cold drink. The Haven Gastropub in Old Town Pasadena was the chosen spot because “we’ve walked by it before and it looked pretty cool”.

craft beer in pasadena

Just a front away from the ever-crowded Colorado street

We walked into a low-lit dining area with a rustic feel. I was looking forward to a good ‘ol meal like mashed taters and meatloaf or some refried beans, Spanish rice and chicken enchiladas.  Well the Haven Gastropub provided none of that. What they did provide was a lavish selection of cocktail drinks and craft beers, as well as appetizer items I could  not even pronunciate and ingredients I was skeptical about (roulade of hog’s head???).

Anywho. I ordered myself of flight of four varied craft beers (all over 8% alcohol, just saying) and decided to ask the waiter a number of questions about the appetizers. And this is what we ended with:

Mac ‘n Cheese

 

haven gastropub food

black truffles, gruyere, fontina, parmesan

 

I just wanted something I was familiar with…and cheesy of course.

And black truffles always prompts me in! Don’t worry, I shared.

However, I did save the last bit for…myself.

 

 

 

 

Ok are you ready for this?! I don’t think you are! I seriously doubt you are. Because I kinda wasn’t. I heard shredded duck and then fries.

Duck Confit Poutine

duck confit poutine pasadena

port salut, pommes frites

 

It does look…ummm different. According to the waiter, it was like “chili cheese fries” and I LOVE chili chez fries! So we placed an order and carefully dove in. They were…..pretty tasty I may add. And very filling.

 

 

Haven Gastropub offered a few other basics, like a burger or flat bread. Their ingredients are exquisite and they offer a unique variety of foods you may never encounter anywhere else near Old Town Pasadena. According to their web site, they also use local or organic produce, sustainable seafood, and humanely raised meat and poultry as often as possible. I guess it’s true what they say, “What won’t hurt you, won’t kill you”—- is that what they say?

Leave a Reply

